The Discover Pass is your gateway to exploring Washington's great outdoors. The pass is a motor vehicle permit that gives you access to more than 70 campgrounds, 160 recreation sites, and 1,200 miles – and growing – of trail managed by DNR. It also lets you explore recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.
The Discover Pass was created by the Governor and the Washington State Legislature in 2011 to help offset a reduction in general tax support for our state parks and other recreation lands and facilities. By purchasing a Discover Pass, you are helping to keep the state’s wonderful outdoor recreation sites open and accessible to the public.
How it works
Your annual Discover Pass is transferable between two vehicles and must be visible in the front windshield. We recommend hanging the pass from your rearview mirror with the license plate numbers and expiration date facing outward. Street-licensed vehicles, such as dual-sport motorcycles or four-wheel-drive vehicles, will be required to display a pass. Motorcycle riders can carry their pass with them.
If you are driving an off-road vehicle (ORV) with its required ORV tabs, you do not need a pass. ORVs are generally non-street-legal vehicles. If you are using a vehicle to transport your recreation equipment, such as ORVs, horse trailers or boat trailers, that vehicle must have a Discover Pass. However, the trailers being towed with the equipment do not need a pass.
Because your Discover Pass is a motor vehicle permit, you do not need one if you are planning non-motorized entry into state recreation lands – by foot, bike, or horse, for example. The pass is also not necessary if you just want to drive through state recreation lands managed by DNR and WDFW and you do not leave your vehicle.
Purchase your pass
You can purchase a one-day pass for $11.50, good for the date marked on the pass, or an annual pass for $35, good for one year from the date of purchase. Additional fees may apply.
- Online at DiscoverPass.wa.gov
- At automated pay stations in select state parks
- In person at more than 600 vendor locations
Earn a pass
It pays to give back to your favorite recreation sites. You can earn a Discover Pass by volunteering 24 or more hours at certain projects and sites. Stay up to date on work parties and volunteer opportunities around the state by checking our calendar and our events on Facebook.
Check Out Washington
Check Out Washington is a program that allows users to check out a special Discover Pass at their local library. Library card holders can reserve a Discover Pass for a week at a time free of charge. A list of participating libraries is available at the Discover Pass website.