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This protocol will be reviewed for currency/need and amended as needed. 

 

 

DNR COVID-19 Safety Practices Protocols 

Considering the most up-to-date information from the Washington State Department of 

Health (DOH), Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I), and other 

general guidance for state agencies, DNR is adopting the following protocol to address 

any cases of COVID-19 that may arise among DNR employees. 

 

What to do if an employee tests positive for COVID-19 or has been in close contact 

with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19? 

An employee who has been diagnosed or otherwise determined to have COVID-19 should 

not enter the workplace and should promptly contact their supervisor or Appointing 

Authority.  

• Employees who have tested positive for COVID-19 may return to work after 

quarantining for a minimum of 5 days, provided that their symptoms have 

improved, no new symptoms are present, and that they have been fever free for 

24 hours without the use of fever reducing medication.  In these instances, these 

employees must also wear a mask for 5 days upon returning to work.  If the 

employee is unable to wear a mask, they must work remotely or work alone at all 

times until the noted duration has passed.   

 

• Employees who have been in close contact with a person who has tested positive 

for COVID-19 must wear a mask for 10 days following the close contact. If the 

employee is unable to wear a mask, they must work remotely or work alone at all 

times until the noted duration has passed.  For the purposes of this document, 

close contact is considered being closer than 6 feet from someone for greater than 

15 minutes total within a 24-hour period, starting the two days before someone has 

tested positive to COVID-19.  

 

• Any employee may choose to wear a mask to protect themselves from possible 

exposure to COVID-19 at any time.   

 

• In all instances when COVID-19 PPE is required, a surgical mask, KN95 mask, or 

N95 mask as outlined by Washington State Department of Health (DOH) and the 

Centers for Disease Control (CDC), must be worn at all times. 
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What types of leave are available to support employees with COVID-19? 

Employees with COVID-19 can use sick leave, are eligible for shared leave, and may also 

be able to access leave through the Family Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”) or Paid Family 

Medical Leave (“PFML”). Please contact Human Resources’ Protected Leave Inbox 

(protectedleave@dnr.wa.gov) for options and details. 

 

Following these steps will allow an employee with COVID-19 to rest and recover as 

needed and will safeguard others DNR employees. 

 

Disinfecting Requirements 

 
All employees shall: 

• Have the ability to properly clean their hands. This can be accomplished by either 

(1) washing hands with soap for at least 20 seconds; or (2) using an alcohol based 

hand sanitizer that is at least 60% alcohol. The preferred method for cleaning 

hands is soap and water for at least 20 seconds.   

• Have access to disinfectant products (wipes or an alternative disinfectant and 
disposable paper product) to clean surfaces that may be contaminated. A list of 
products that are EPA-approved for use against the virus that causes COVID-19 
is available at https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-
against-sars-cov-2. Regardless of the disinfectant used, the manufacturer’s 
instructions for concentration, application, method and contact time, etc. must be 
followed. 

• Keep their own work area (desk and phone) and/or assigned vehicle clean as 
needed. 
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