## **Washington State Natural Heritage Advisory Council**

January 2024

<b>Member/</b> Affiliation	Appointed	Term Expires	Position (as defined by RCW 79.70.020*)
Dr. John Bishop Professor of Biological Sciences Washington State University, Vancouver Vancouver, Washington	October 2023	June 30, 2027	Recognized expert in the ecology of natural areas
<b>Dr. Rebecca Brown</b> Professor of Biology Eastern Washington University Cheney, Washington	May 2017	June 30, 2025	Recognized expert in the ecology of natural areas
Council Chair Dr. Heida Diefenderfer Senior Earth Scientist Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Marine and Coastal Research Laboratory Faculty Fellow, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences, University of Washington Seattle, Washington	September 2014	June 30, 2026	Recognized expert in the ecology of natural areas
Dr. Janelle Downs Earth Scientist Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Benton City, Washington	May 2017	June 30, 2024	Recognized expert in the ecology of natural areas
Dr. Peter Dunwiddie Affiliate Professor in Biology and the School for Environmental and Forest Sciences University of Washington Seattle, Washington	September 2014	June 30, 2026	Recognized expert in the ecology of natural areas
Dr. Ailene Ettinger Quantitative Ecologist The Nature Conservancy Seattle, Washington	October 2023	June 30, 2027	Public Representative
Kathryn Kurtz Executive Director Pacific Education Institute Olympia, Washington	May 2017	June 30, 2024	Public Representative

Washington State Department of Natural Resources

	I		
Maynard Mallonee Agriculture land owner Boistfort Valley, Washington	June 2019	June 30, 2024	Representing agricultural landowner
Claudine Reynolds Director of Wildife & Environmental Policy Port Blakely Olympia, Washington	June 2019	June 30, 2025	Representing private forest landowner
lan Sinks Stewdardship Director Columbia Land Trust Vancouver, Washington	May 2017	June 30, 2025	Public Representative
Adam Cole Policy Specialist Washington State Recreation and Conservation Office	State Agency Representative	ongoing	State Agency Representative
Janet Gorrell Landscape Conservation Section Manager Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife	State Agency Representative	ongoing	State Agency Representative
Heather Kapust National Coastal Wetlands Conservation Grant Manager Washington State Department of Ecology	State Agency Representative	ongoing	State Agency Representative
Kristen Ohlson-Kiehn Recreation & Conservation Division Manager Washington State Department of Natural Resources	State Agency Representative	ongoing	State Agency Representative
Dr. Andrea Thorpe Natural Resources Program Manager Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission	State Agency Representative	ongoing	State Agency Representative

## \*RCW 79.70.070

## Natural heritage advisory council.

- (1) The natural heritage advisory council is hereby established. The council shall consist of fifteen members, ten of whom shall be chosen as follows and who shall elect from the council's membership a chairperson:
- (a) Five individuals, appointed by the commissioner, who shall be recognized experts in the ecology of natural areas and represent the public, academic, and private sectors. Desirable fields of expertise are biological and geological sciences; and
- (b) Five individuals, appointed by the commissioner, who shall be selected from the various regions of the state. At least one member shall be or represent a private forestland owner and at least one member shall be or represent a private agricultural landowner.
- (2) Members appointed under subsection (1) of this section shall serve for terms of four years.
- (3) In addition to the members appointed by the commissioner, the director of the department of fish and wildlife, the director of the department of ecology, the supervisor of the department of natural resources, the director of the state parks and recreation commission, and the director of the recreation and conservation office, or an authorized representative of each agency officer, shall serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the council.
- (4) Any vacancy on the council shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term by the commissioner.
  - (5) In order to provide for staggered terms, of the initial members of the council:
  - (a) Three shall serve for a term of two years;
  - (b) Three shall serve for a term of three years; and
  - (c) Three shall serve for a term of four years.
- (6) Members of the natural preserves advisory committee serving on July 26, 1981, shall serve as members of the council until the commissioner appoints a successor to each. The successor appointment shall be specifically designated to replace a member of the natural preserves advisory committee until all members of that committee have been replaced. A member of the natural preserves advisory committee is eligible for appointment to the council if otherwise qualified.
- (7) Members of the council shall serve without compensation. Members shall be reimbursed for travel expenses as provided in RCW <u>43.03.050</u> and <u>43.03.060</u> as now or hereafter amended.