

How to Dispose of an Abandoned or Derelict Boat | PUBLIC ENTITIES

Questions? Visit Our Website: dnr.wa.gov/derelict-vessels



THE FOLLOWING
AUTHORIZED PUBLIC
ENTITIES CAN
REMOVE VESSELS
AND APPLY FOR
REIMBURSEMENT:

- Washington StateDepartment of Fishand Wildlife
- Washington State
 Parks and Recreation
 Commission
- Port Districts
- Metropolitan Park Districts
- Town, City or County
 Governments

IF YOU HAVE AN ABANDONED OR DERELICT BOAT AT YOUR PUBLIC MOORAGE FACILITY

- Report it to DNR and obtain a DVRP number.
- 2 Follow RCW 53.08.320 or RCW 79.100.040 to gain legal custody of the vessel. Send photos of the boat with posting attached to DNR.
- 3 Once you have custody you can sell or destroy the vessel. The state Department of Enterprise Services (DES) has several state contracts that may facilitate removal or disposal of vessels. Certain services are covered by mandatory-use state contracts (optional for local governments—mandatory for state agencies).
- 4 After the vessel has been destroyed, you can seek up to 100% reimbursement through the Derelict Vessel Removal Program. The estimated fund balance and the estimated funds available for removal will be adjusted and posted quarterly on the DVRP web page.
- 5 If the vessel is in poor condition, it shouldn't be sold.
 If it is in marginal condition, it should not be sold without
 some sort of process to make sure that the vessel won't be
 reabandoned.

- 6 If you sell a vessel that is more than 35 feet in length and more than 40 years old, a vessel inspection is required to determine the seaworthiness prior to the transfer of ownership. See RCW 79.100.150 for more information.
- 7 An Authorized Public Entity has authority to remove a derelict or abandoned vessel when the Authorized Public Entity is the owner, lessee, or operator of the moorage facility or the aguatic lands.
- 8 For a vessel that pose a threat to the environment or human safety and are on privately-owned tidelands or county-owned aquatic lands, the Authorized Public Entities with jurisdiction may remove or ask for DNR assistance.
- 9 Under the port moorage statute (RCW 53.083.320), port rules can be developed to address when to move vessels ashore for storage if the vessel is "in the opinion of port personnel a nuisance, in danger of sinking or creating other damage, or owes port charges."











1 DOWNLOAD

and fill out the "Vessel of Concern Reporting Form" from: dnr.wa.gov/derelict-vessels

and

EMAIL the form with photos included, to dvrp@dnr.wa.gov or

CA

CALL 360-902-2628 or 360-902-1100 or

MAIL TO

1111 Washington St. SE Mail Stop 47027 Olympia, WA 98504-7027 Spills of oil or other hazardous materials must be reported.

U.S. NATIONAL RESPONSE CENTER Call 800-424-8802

DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY

24 hr. Response Call 800-258-5990

USCG SECTOR PUGET SOUND

Pacific Ocean (north of Grays Harbor) 24 hr. Response Call 206-217-6001

USCG SECTOR COLUMBIA RIVER

Pacific Ocean (south of Grays Harbor, Columbia, Snake and Salmon Rivers) Call 503-247-4014



Questions? Visit Our Website: dnr.wa.gov/derelict-vessels



DERELICT VESSEL REMOVAL PROGRAM AND VESSEL TURN-IN PROGRAM 360-902-BOAT (2628)

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES