

## **DNR COVID-19 Safety Practices Protocols**

Considering the most up-to-date information from the Washington State Department of Health (DOH), Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (LNI), and other general guidance for state agencies, DNR is adopting the following protocol to address any cases of COVID-19 that may arise among DNR employees.

## What to do if an employee tests positive for COVID-19 or has been in close contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19?

An employee who has been diagnosed or otherwise determined to have COVID-19 should not enter the workplace and should promptly contact their supervisor or Appointing Authority.

- Employees who have tested positive for COVID-19 may return to work after their symptoms have improved, no new symptoms are present, and they have been fever free for 24 hours without the use of fever reducing medication. In these instances, these employees must also wear a mask for 5 days upon returning to work. If the employee is unable to wear a mask, they must work remotely or work alone at all times until the noted duration has passed.
- Wearing a mask is no longer required for employees who have been in close contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19.
- Any employee may choose to wear a mask to protect themselves from possible exposure to COVID-19 at any time.
- In all instances when COVID-19 PPE is required, a surgical mask, KN95 mask, or N95 mask as outlined by Washington State Department of Health (DOH) and the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), must be worn at all times.

## What types of leave are available to support employees with COVID-19?

Employees with COVID-19 can use sick leave, are eligible for shared leave, and may also be able to access leave through the Family Medical Leave Act ("FMLA") or Paid Family Medical Leave ("PFML"). Please contact Human Resources' Protected Leave Inbox (protectedleave@dnr.wa.gov) for options and details.

Following these steps will allow an employee with COVID-19 to rest and recover as needed and will safeguard others DNR employees.

Last Revision Date: 04102024

## **Disinfecting Requirements**

All employees shall:

• Have the ability to properly clean their hands. This can be accomplished by either (1) washing hands with soap for at least 20 seconds; or (2) using an alcohol based hand sanitizer that is at least 60% alcohol. The **preferred method for cleaning hands is soap and water for at least 20 seconds.** 

Have access to disinfectant products (wipes or an alternative disinfectant and disposable paper product) to clean surfaces that may be contaminated. A list of products that are EPA-approved for use against the virus that causes COVID-19 is available at <u>https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-use-against-sars-cov-2</u>. Regardless of the disinfectant used, the manufacturer's instructions for concentration, application, method and contact time, etc. must be followed.