Encumbered Lands Steering Committee – Membership Composition

Updated 4/12/2023

*Membership selection is informal and not subject to direct appointment by the Commissioner of Public Lands.

The Encumbered Lands Steering Committee includes County Commissioners from Pacific, Wahkiakum, and Skamania counties, as well as representatives from the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Washington State Schools Directors Association, a land trust, and the forestry industry. The DNR Deputy Supervisor for State Uplands chairs the committee.

Participant Composition Breakdown:

- Tom Lannen Skamania County Commissioner
- Dan Cothren Wahkiakum County Commissioner
- Franke Wolfe Pacific County Commissioner
- Cherie Kearney Columbia Land Trust
- Cindy Kelly Washington State School Directors Association
- Matt Comisky American Forest Resource Council
- Randy Newman Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
- Angue Brodie (seat now occupied by Todd Welker) DNR