DNR’s South Puget Sound Region wildfire staff receives Lead by Example Award
News Date: 
April 17, 2017

Commissioner of Public Lands Hilary Franz and Mark Stanford, Texas A&M Forest Service, recently presented DNR’s South Puget Sound Region firefighters with the Paul Gleason Lead by Example Award.
“This team of firefighters are visionaries, mentors and innovators,” said Commissioner Franz. “This award is different from other firefighting or agency awards, because it focuses specifically on leadership in the firefighter ranks.”
The intent of this award is to recognize those who embody the spirit of leadership exhibited by Paul Gleason and who exemplify the values of duty, respect and integrity. In the award's 14- year history, this team is one of only a couple of non-federal recipients.  

From left to right: Commissioner Hilary Franz, Matt Caldwell,
Terry Jewell, Kevin Donham (past recipient),
Sean Kibbe, Don Melton, Bryan Scholz (past recipient)
Charley Burns, Brian Looper, Mark Stanford (Texas A&M Forest Service)

This prestigious national award was given to South Puget Sound staff Don Melton, Brian Looper, Sean Kibbe, Charley Burns, Matt Caldwell and Terry Jewell.
In 2010, the South Puget Sound fire operations team began a cultural shift in how they operate and have been working to continually improve the program. This team has been guided by the objectives to beat yesterday, foster collective impact and lead change in Washington's wildland fire community. They’ve embraced the concept of a mission-driven culture by providing service for the common good, creating a high trust state, encouraging initiative and seeking continuous improvement. 
This team developed a "leadership in cinema" module on human factors based off the movie "Sully." This is used in annual fire refreshers throughout the state. They also worked with local fire districts to develop a wildfire safety awareness course for structural firefighters in the wildland setting.
See what the South Puget Sound staff created to IGNITE the Spark for Leadership Contest.
The Paul Gleason Lead by Example Award is sponsored by the National Wildfire Coordinating Group Leadership Subcommittee and recognizes individuals or groups who are leading by example in order to improve the wildland fire service.
Janet Pearce
Communications Manager
Cell: 360-688-3047