Forest Watch Volunteers
Click Here for Survey
Forest Watch Volunteers 
 

Forest watch volunteers in DNR's Southeast RegionWould you like to be a forest watch volunteer?
Forest watch volunteers help protect and enhance DNR-managed land while working with the public to encourage appropriate recreation use. Volunteers also educate the public about the value of natural resources and DNR’s role as steward of more than 3 million acres of state trust lands.

 What Do Forest Watch Volunteers Do?

  • Provide information to visitors.
  • Monitor and observe trails, sites, and facilities.
  • Document and report safety concerns and suspicious or criminal activities.


Forest watch volunteersExpectations of forest watch volunteers

  • Provide friendly, courteous information and assistance to forest visitors.
  • Represent  DNR in a professional manner.
  • Complete all required training.
  • Follow safety procedures.
  • Serve within the scope and limits of assigned volunteer responsibilities.
  • Accurately report observations and complete required records and timesheets.
     



Benefits  to you, as a forest watch volunteer

  • Be a part of providing an important and meaningful service in protecting and enhancing state trust lands.
  • Learn new skills and information.
  • Improve recreation trails, sites, and facilities.
  • Meet other people who share a passion for outdoor recreation.
  • Enhance your resume with documented volunteer work experience. All state, county, and municipal job openings in Washington State permit each hour of qualified volunteer service to equal one hour of required work experience.

How do I become a forest watch volunteer?

who do i contact?
Contact the region that is responsible for your area (map), or contact the DNR Forest Watch Coordinator Ken Dean.

Southeast Region
Jeff Jones, 509-972-2862 or jeff.jones@dnr.wa.gov
Mike Williams, 509-925-0973 or michael.williams@dnr.wa.gov

Northeast Region
Kyle Pomrankey, 509-685-2719 or kyle.pomrankey@dnr.wa.gov
Chuck Lamica, 509-685-3091 or chuck.lamica@dnr.wa.gov

South Puget Sound Region
Tahuya, Green Moutain and Hood Canal
Jesse Sims, 360-801-5097 or jesse.sims@dnr.wa.gov
Ray Minish, 360-801-1080 or ray.minish@dnr.wa.gov

Tiger Mountain and Raging River Area
Sam Jarrett, 206-375-0448 or sam.jarrett@dnr.wa.gov
Katie Woolsey, 206-375-3558 or katie.woolsey@dnr.wa.gov

Elbe Hills and Mt. Tahoma SF
Nancy Barker, 253-312-4301 or nancy.barker@dnr.wa.gov

Pacific Cascade Region
North
Philip Wolff, 360-902-1435 or philip.wolff@dnr.wa.gov
Bryan Hamlin, 360-356-0536 or bryan.hamlin@dnr.wa.gov

South
Jessica Kimmick, 360-852-3390 or jessica.kimmick@dnr.wa.gov
Steve Rhodes, 360-584-4872 or steven.rhodes@dnr.wa.gov

Olympic Region
Cathy Baker, 360-374-2860 or cathy.baker@dnr.wa.gov
Eric Steffen, 360-374-2800 or eric.steffen@dnr.wa.gov

Northwest Region
Alexis Haifley, 360-708-7629 or alexis.kodosky@dnr.wa.gov

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Files Filter

to specify items for consumption by a Data View. To change the list that this refers to, check the Miscellaneous group in the sidebar tool for the ListURL value and change the URL to point to a different list.

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Contacts Filter

to specify items for consumption by a Data View. To change the list that this refers to, check the Miscellaneous group in the sidebar tool for the ListURL value and change the URL to point to a different list.

 Contacts

Ken Dean
Forest Watch Program Coordinator
360-902-1701
kenneth.dean@dnr.wa.gov

Report Suspicious Activity (non-911 Emergency):
Call the nearest DNR Region office Mon-Fri
1-855-883-8368
forestwatch@dnr.wa.gov

 Files

 Related Links