FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 21, 2013
Sasquatch Family Helps You Avoid a $99 Ticket
Buy your Discover Pass before you head out for Labor Day weekend recreation
OLYMPIA – The Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR) launched a video campaign featuring a Sasquatch family to remind people that a Discover Pass is required when visiting Washington state-managed recreation lands. The video is available at bit.ly/SquatchFamily.
The Discover Pass is a vehicle access pass required on all Washington state-managed recreation lands. The fine for not displaying a Discover Pass is $99.
An annual pass costs $35 (including transaction fees) and a one-day pass is $11.50.
The Discover Pass may be purchased:
- Online at www.buydiscoverpass.com
- In person at nearly 600 recreational license vendors in Washington State where state fishing and hunting licenses are sold
- By phone (866) 320-9933
- At State Parks headquarters and region offices, and at state parks when staff is available
More videos and a ‘Meet the Family’ bio is available at BuyDiscoverPass.com
30-second version available at bit.ly/SquatchFan30
The Washington State Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to recreation lands and water-access sites managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, DNR, and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). State recreation lands include state parks, boat launches, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, trails, and trailheads. For more information, visit www.discoverpass.wa.gov.
Media Contact: Diana Lofflin, DNR Communications Manager, 360-902-1169, firstname.lastname@example.org